//
you're reading...
11th Grade

Hazing the New Girl – By Kris M.

Today’s post comes from Kris M., who moved seven times before graduating high school, attending four different high schools in the process. She ran across all kinds of people – mostly good. But some really bad one’s too.

* * *

I could smell the smoke from the Marlboro Light cigarettes hanging in the air. My chest immediately tightened.

That smell meant my locker-mate, Kelley, was nearby.

She didn’t like me. The school made her share a locker with me and it royally pissed her off.

I slowed my pace, hoping she would be gone by the time I got to the locker. I only had seven minutes between classes. So I couldn’t stall too long.

I could hear her Texas drawl as I turned the corner. “Ya’ll, let’s get a Coke.” she said to her friends. They were just about to walk away when they saw me.

They watched as I worked my way through the students.

I quickly realized something was not right. There were papers and books all over the floor, like a gust of wind had whipped through the hall and strewn stuff everywhere.

And then I realized it was my stuff.

She’d thrown my stuff out of our locker. I couldn’t believe it. Who does this? We are in 11th grade. Are you kidding me?

My notebook cover was torn off. Pages were crinkled. My book cover was ripped and dirty from footsteps. The thermos with my yogurt had rolled down the hall. Pencils were everywhere.

I was in shock.

I hated this place. First a roper spits a huge hunk of sloppy wet chewing tobacco on my foot. Then some crazy girl in my art class threatens to stab me because I got an A on a project and she got a C. Now I get kicked out of my locker. I’m pretty sure this school should be called Hell High.

No one picked up anything. They were all stepping over everything like it was supposed to be there.

Doesn’t anyone think it’s strange that there are books and notebooks all over the floor?

Is this how it’s going to be?

I looked up and saw Kelley laughing and snickering at me with her friends looking cool with her hands on her hips. Her beady brown eyes stared at me. I stared right back.

Why would the school do this to me? They had to know this wasn’t going to end well. I guess I was just a number to them, another new student in a huge school already busting at the seams.

They whispered and laughed as I scrambled to pick up my stuff.

I can’t report this to anyone.  I’m afraid of what she and her friends might do. But I also can’t carry my books around all day either. I sat quickly thinking of what to do.

“Hey, you’re new, right?” a girl said, looking down at me. She was pretty with kind eyes, thick with mascara, and long curly blonde hair.

“Yeah, I just moved here from Connecticut.” I answered back.

“You can throw your stuff in my locker if you want.” she offered casually, shifting her weight, and pointing to her open locker.

“Are you sure?” I answered hesitantly.

“Yeah, she’s a bitch. Don’t worry about her. My name’s Tara. I think we’re in the same English class.” she said smiling.

“Thanks.” I said walking to her locker. “I’m Kris. I don’t know anyone. They just paired me with her.”

“Don’t worry about her. I’ve known her since Kindergarten. I’ll see you around.” she handed me a piece of paper with the combination scribbled on it and walked away.

She saved me that day. I don’t know why.

We never really became close friends. But for some reason she decided she would protect me from “the mean” girls, because they never bothered me again.

And she was one of “them”.

* * *

Kris M. – “The good news is we moved to Weston, Ct after this, where I had the most wonderful senior year. I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I’m still close to a bunch of people and I only went to school there one year. So you never know.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.

Discussion

16 thoughts on “Hazing the New Girl – By Kris M.

  1. The hazing. It’s all too familiar. It’s good that there was someone there who had some decency and kindness. I think it’s the knowledge that there are good people out there that helps us survive the bad ones. *HUG*

    Posted by Phyllis | June 27, 2011, 11:11 AM
    • Hazing is awful, and it’s even worse when it’s a group against one. It’s scary. Especially for a wimp like me!I Luckily, I remember, and appreciate all the good people, and think of them way more often than the bad. They trump the bad one’s in my memory bank.

      Thanks for the {hug}!!

      Posted by Kris | July 18, 2011, 11:51 PM
  2. I went to thirteen schools in twelve years, including five different high schools. One of them in our current hometown. That was my worst year, but nothing like yours. Kudos for you for surviving and becoming the wonderful woman you are today!

    Posted by happymommyblog | June 27, 2011, 12:29 PM
    • I had no idea you moved more than me. CRAZY! No wonder we get along so well!! I can’t believe you’re back in the town where you had such a horrible experience. I can honestly say I would NEVER move back to the town in Texas. Ever. I know a lot of years have passed. A LOT. But I still wouldn’t do.

      You are awesome…..hopefully it’s better here this time around.

      Posted by Kris | July 18, 2011, 11:48 PM
  3. Girls can be so awful. Stuff like this makes me crazy. Love that someone reached out to you though.

    Posted by MamaRobinJ | July 2, 2011, 11:28 AM
  4. Oh this just makes me sick thinking about this. Its so terribly sad that kids have to go through this crap. I’m sure it was heartbreaking for your parents.

    Posted by hillary | July 2, 2011, 11:50 AM
  5. I really will never understand why young people think it’s okay to be this way. I just can’t think that parents know their children behave this way (some do, but that’s another thing). I think if most of them knew, they would do something about it. Maybe I’m too optimistic, but I like to think that we are truly better than this, as parents.

    Posted by Lex | July 2, 2011, 12:45 PM
    • You know, I agree. And I know how challenging it is parenting a difficult child. My own brother was a piece of work. But my parents never gave up and he turned out great. It is a parents responsibility to teach kids how to behave – even when they are teenagers. I talk with my daughter all the time about how kids treat each other in school. She’s only 9. But she’s well aware of what is good and bad behavior.

      Posted by Kris | July 18, 2011, 11:40 PM
  6. This made me cringe. And somehow feel tender towards the one girl who helped you out even though she was a mean girl, too…I’m relieved your senior year was much better!

    #ihatemeangirls

    Posted by Erin Margolin | July 2, 2011, 2:16 PM
    • Thanks for your comment. Sorry for the delayed response!

      My entire junior year made me cringe. I don’t think the mean girl that helped me was really mean. She was stuck in a click and afraid to get out. Sadly she died very young.

      Posted by Kris | July 18, 2011, 11:34 PM
  7. If you ever went back to a High School reunion and they were there…you would laugh your ass off. Once a loser, always a loser. ;) coming over from The Red Dress Club Link Up Weekend. I enjoyed this story. It was yours to tell, and you did it well.

    Posted by Everyone Knows Me Here | July 2, 2011, 4:36 PM
    • Ha! I never thought about going back. That would be awesome to see how they turned out!!! Sadly, the girl that helped me was killed right after high school. She was hit by a semi on the freeway.

      Posted by Kris | July 18, 2011, 11:30 PM
  8. Thank goodness for good people. I can’t believe she threw your stuff out like that.

    Posted by Kimberly | July 2, 2011, 5:23 PM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new survival stories.

Share Your Story

Do you have a tale of survival you want to share? Please email me at danceswithchaos (at) gmail *dot* com.

The Survival Button

Have you survived the mean girls? Grab this button to share on your blog.

When I was in….

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

